HHS Deputy Sec. Eric Hargan Receives CAHC's "Affordability Champion Award" for Efforts to Lower Health Costs

HHS Deputy Secretary Eric Hargan (left) receives CAHC's 2018 Affordability Champion Award from CAHC President Joel White (right).

HHS Deputy Secretary Eric Hargan (left) receives CAHC's 2018 Affordability Champion Award from CAHC President Joel White (right).

CAHC recognizes administration's work to expand HSAs, increase state flexibility under 1332 waivers

WASHINGTON, DC (December 10, 2018): The Council for Affordable Health Coverage (CAHC)  – a coalition of employers, insurers, life science companies, PBMs, brokers, agents, patient groups, and physician organizations – presented Deputy Secretary of Health and Human Services (HHS) Eric Hargan with its 2018 Affordability Champion Award, the coalition's highest honor. 

The CAHC Affordability Champion Award has traditionally been given annually to members of Congress and Congressional staff for their work to contain healthcare costs through bipartisan, commonsense solutions. HHS Deputy Secretary Hargan is the first administration official to receive this recognition.

CAHC President Joel White released the following statement:

“The Trump administration has made important strides to improve healthcare affordability and, while we all know that more work remains to be done, HHS Deputy Secretary Hargan has been a driving force in the progress that has been made thus far," said CAHC President Joel White. "Already, we've seen this administration take action to loosen the reins on Section 1332 waivers, allowing states greater leeway to craft their own healthcare solutions tailored to meet the unique needs of their population. Under Deputy Secretary Hargan, the administration has also proposed needed expansions of Health Savings Accounts (HSAs) and Health Reimbursement Arrangements (HRAs), thereby ensuring these critical savings tools can deliver more benefit to more people."  

White continued, "What's more, with its 'enhanced' direct enrollment pathway for exchange coverage and its efforts to bolster short-term and association health plans, HHS is expanding consumers' choices for how and where they buy coverage. These actions demonstrate Deputy Secretary Hargan and the agency's commitment to the belief that competition is the key to unlock lower healthcare costs. At CAHC, we know this to be true. We are proud to recognize Deputy Secretary Hargan with this award - the first given to a member of the administration - and look forward to our continued work together to lower the cost of healthcare for all Americans."

Joining Deputy Secretary Hargan in receiving the 2018 Affordability Champion Award are: Sen. Susan Collins (R-ME), Sen. Patty Murray (D-WA), Rep. Brett Guthrie (R-KY), Rep. Grace Meng (D-NY), Rep. Collin Peterson (D-MN), Rep. Peter Roskam (R-IL), and staff award recipients Greg Mathis with Sen. Mark Warner (D-VA) and Marty Reiser with Whip Steve Scalise (R-LA). 


About the Council for Affordable Health Coverage
The Council for Affordable Health Coverage (CAHC) is a broad-based alliance with a primary focus: bringing down the cost of health care for all Americans. CAHC promotes policies that lower health costs through increased competition, informed consumers and more choices. Learn more at CAHC.net